Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

God bless my friend Sarah. She tries so hard to accommodate all of our food preferences. This week, she made gluten free oatmeal raisin cookies with almond flour. They were wonderful! She gave me the recipe and assured me that they were easy to make.

So, being the optimist I am, I took the recipe home and looked it over. It was simple enough, and I knew that I could solar cook it easily in the summer heat. Then I did what I always do – I changed half of the ingredients. After all, why use an egg when you can use flax? And who needs butter when you can use coconut oil? And while you are at it, we can probably substitute rice flour for almond flour because I just ran out of almond flour.

And, of course, what you would imagine would happen did. I made oatmeal pucks. They had so many substitutions that they did not turn into proper cookies. The only thing I can say for them is that they made wonderful batter that my kids loved 🙂

Next time I try this recipe with some of the correct ingredients, I’ll post the recipe!

Leave a comment